Too Hot to Handle

feat. Nielsen, Debussy, Prokofiev, Berio & Tchaikovsky

You are looking for glorious adrenalin-fueled stuff? Then go on, you want to know…

This week's collection is themed around works known for placing tremendous technical demands on the musicians playing them, and book-ending it are two violin concertos. To begin, Nielsen's Violin Concerto: a gorgeous work that's not nearly as well known as it should be, and it's played here by Vilde Frang. Then to close, Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, and for this we've got Augustin Hadelich in the soloist spot. Sitting at the centre meanwhile is Prokofiev's Second Piano Concerto, with soloist Beatrice Rana. Then, the two works snuggled in between those three are an orchestral one - Debussy's Jeux, performed here by the Orchestre de la Société des Concerts du Conservatoire under André Cluytens - and Berio's Sequenza XII for solo bassoon, and the recording we've got of that is the one made by its dedicatee, Pascal Gallois.

Curation: Charlotte Gardner

Speaker: Charlotte Gardner

Visual Art: Philipp Nicolai Hertel

  • Too Hot to Handle

  • An introduction to Nielsen — Violin Concerto

  • Violin Concerto Preview Only

    Carl Nielsen

    Vilde Frang, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Eivind Gullberg Jensen2011
  • An introduction to Debussy — Jeux

  • Jeux Preview Only

    Claude Debussy

    Orchestre de la Société des Concerts du Conservatoire, André Cluytens1963
  • An introduction to Prokofiev — Piano Concerto No. 2 in g minor op. 16

  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in g minor op. 16 Preview Only

    Sergei Prokofiev

    Beatrice Rana, Orchestra dell' Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Sir Antonio Pappano2015
  • An introduction to Berio — Sequenza XII (for Bassoon)

  • Sequenza XII (for Bassoon) Preview Only

    Luciano Berio

    Pascal Gallois1994
  • An introduction to Tchaikovsky — Violin Concerto in D major op. 35

  • Violin Concerto in D major op. 35 Preview Only

    Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Augustin Hadelich, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko2016

Sign up to listen. For free!

Discover our growing catalogue of handpicked recordings, timeless works and new artists. Accompanied by intriguing background stories we guide you to new releases, unearth hidden gems and let you dig into every detail of a recording. Simply create a Grammofy account and connect to your Spotify Premium subscription.

(Preview Only)