Easter Surprise

feat. Bach, Beethoven, Respighi, L’Héritier & Mahler

This week we give you Resurrection Music, our Grammofy Easter offering.

It begins with Philippe Herreweghe's glorious recording of the Bach St Matthew Passion with Collegium Vocale Gent. Also on the programme is a sixteenth century motet by the French Renaissance composer Jean L’Héritier, but it's not all sacred this week. We've also got two rather more Easter bunny-shaped offerings in the form of Beethoven's “Spring” violin sonata, and then Respighi's La Primavera. Then we finish the collection with Mahler's “Resurrection” Symphony No 2. Now we know that Mahler never said in so many words that this was a God-shaped work, but it is so easy to see why its “Resurrection” tagline stuck, because it does truly feel like a journey from darkness and death to light and life. So enjoy, and Happy Easter!

Curation: Charlotte Gardner

Speaker: Charlotte Gardner

Visual Art: Philipp Nicolai Hertel

  • Easter Surprise

  • An introduction to Bach — Matthäus-Passion BWV 244

  • Matthäus-Passion BWV 244 Preview Only

    Johann Sebastian Bach

    Philippe Herreweghe, Ian Bostridge, Franz-Joseph Selig, Sibylla Rubens, Andreas Scholl, Werner Güra, Dietrich Henschel, Collegium Vocale Gent, Orchester des Collegium Vocale Gent1998
  • An introduction to Beethoven — Violin Sonata No. 5 in F major op. 24 »Frühlingssonate«

  • Violin Sonata No. 5 in F major op. 24 »Frühlingssonate« Preview Only

    Ludwig van Beethoven

    Isabelle Faust, Alexander Melnikov2008
  • An introduction to Respighi — Trittico Botticelliano - I. La primavera. Allegro vivace

  • Trittico Botticelliano - I. La primavera. Allegro vivace Preview Only

    Ottorino Respighi

    Alain Trudel, Orchestre symphonique de Laval2015
  • An introduction to l'Héritier — Surrexit pastor bonus

  • Surrexit pastor bonus Preview Only

    Jean l'Héritier

    stile antico2012
  • An introduction to Mahler — Symphony No. 2 in c minor »Auferstehung«

  • Symphony No. 2 in c minor »Auferstehung« Preview Only

    Gustav Mahler

    Valery Gergiev, London Symphony Orchestra, Elena Moşuc, Zlata Bulycheva, London Symphony Chorus2008

Sign up to listen. For free!

Discover our growing catalogue of handpicked recordings, timeless works and new artists. Accompanied by intriguing background stories we guide you to new releases, unearth hidden gems and let you dig into every detail of a recording. Simply create a Grammofy account and connect to your Spotify Premium subscription.

(Preview Only)